Moats & Boats & Waterfalls, Alley ways & Payphone calls…Home is where ever I’m with you

This term has been absolutely manic. I’ve been teaching for the first time, writing, working, and trying to keep my social life (or, what I think is a social life) afloat.

That being said I have had a wonderful term alongside some wonderful people.

One of the best things to happen this term is my dear friends Whitney and Strasz got married in the beautiful St Olaves Church. I managed to snap a few photos so I will share them here although I am sure the photographer will have many much better ones (and more of the Bride and Groom!)

WaS2The Beautiful Whitney!

WaS5Tardis Cufflinks!

WaS6The dress.

WaS7Jane at the Wedding

WaS8Matt and Ffion

WaS9Knit Flowers

WaS10Jess

WaS11Jane, who probably hates this photo.

WaS12The table settings with paper and knit flowers (I got to help with some of the paper ones!)

WaS13Bride at Tea

WaS14Mulled Wine

Illuminating York happened again.

illumminster3

illumminster6People shadows

 

illumminster7Dale: Illuminated

illumminster8Me: less so

illumminster15illumminster17 illumminster18

illumminster21

illumminster22

illumminster23To remember the dead.

illumminster18 illumminster27Y.M.C.A.

illumminster31Jane

illumminster32Dale

illumminster33Sarah

illumminster34York Minster!

On Dale’s Birthday we went to Jorvik: The Viking Centre. The centre is great but to dark and crowded for photos, but at the special exhibit, Valhalla, I got some pictures of York Stone normally kept in the crypt at the Minster.

Jorvick Blessing stone    Jorvick Minster stone Jorvick Minster Vine Scroll

And on the way saw a replica of the Sutton Hoo Helmet!

Jorvick helmIsn’t he awful!

I am currently in London preparing to fly to California tomorrow. As I write this, I am siting in the British Library with a cappuccino and cake remembering how lucky I am to be able to research what I love and to see lovely things as often as I do, especially with the brilliant people I have in my life. I am so glad to be headed to another lovely place and see more lovely people.

But for tonight I will head to an old church in order to hear some folk music!

RoRThe Ryan O’Reilly Band, when I saw them at the Guy Fawkes in York this past November.

Leave a Reply

