The Town of the Hurdled Ford

Dublin was lovely, mostly because by chance the weather was so much nicer than York. York has been having torrential rain and the river is flooded, and it was sunny for nearly the duration of my stay in the city.

I spent the first day at the conference, which went well, and seeing the Book of Kells. I would have loved the Book of Kells exhibit, had it not been packed with people; including one gem of an American tourist, who peering close to the Kells page exclaimed, “I can’t read it I think its in Latin! I’m not sure the writing’s all in Calligraphy…”  But the Long Room in the Library was so pretty! No photos were allowed but I pulled this one off google:

The conference was in the Long Room hub, a building for the Humanities research that was based on the spirit of the Long Room.

I don’t exactly see it, but the rooms inside were wood paneled.

I spent the majority of the weekend walking around Dublin seeing some of the tourist attractions. This is the Ha’penny Bridge, and in the background you can see the Winding Stair, an excellent little book shop, with a great little restaurant up top that serves up posh-local Irish and a yarn shop.

The crypt at Christ Church Cathedral had a craft fair.

And a mummified cat and mouse.

Sky Bridge at Christ Church.

Then I went out to St. Audoen’s Church the only extant medieval perish church in Dublin.

It’s partially in ruins.

But there was an inside too!

With a Tudor Effigy.

St Patrick’s Cathedral.

It has some lovely details, and the is the burial place of Swift.

The back of Dublin castle, has some lovely painted buildings and also lead to the Chester Beatty Library which had a good display of books.

I ate quite a lot of seafood on this trip, as there is not much friendly veg. food in Dublin. But this is a duo of mussels in cream and cider with clam chowder, served with brown bread (ubiquitous in Ireland) and cider. It was very good, but not as good as San Francisco chowder.

I went to the National Museum of Ireland, and it had some good displays of bog bodies, viking artifacts and early christian shrines.

Pretty!

I also saw this chap, Oscar Wilde. It is such a funny sculpture, but he is one of my favorite author/ playwrights.

Dublin was lovely, but after the weekend I had some trips planned to see some early medieval things in the surrounding area: Wicklow, Glendalough, and Kells. I have hundreds of photos, mostly of stone sculpture, so when I have sifted through them I will post a sample for you all to see later in the week!

Trinity College

 

 

Leave a Reply

